Posted in Uncategorized

Grocery double-budget struck again

It seems, after doubling my grocery budget two weeks ago, that the grocery shopping double-budget has struck again. Once again, we have spent twice what we budget for food. And, once again, I have enough food to last two weeks. Needless to say, I think I need to plan the grocery shopping better for the next grocery trip in two weeks.

You see, I planned our dinners around what we have instead of planning shopping around what we need. This mindset of planning dinners around what we have is turning out to be additional shopping for the few items we are missing instead of making a dinner menu, then going shopping for what we absolutely need. It’s amazing how much useless stuff you end up having.

For example, I had a rebate for the new Jif Whips. We used it on the mini bagels my son and I love to eat. But, we have barely used half the container and now it’s sitting there. Wouldn’t it make sense to use the rest? What a concept! 

We also have food that’s been sitting in the freezer for a while. Why not use it and get it out of there? I think the next major grocery trip will be more than two weeks from now…

Author:

Daughter, sister, mother, wife. Most of all, follower of Jesus Christ. Avid reader and amateur book review blogger; WAHM-to-be.

Leave a Reply

