Posted in Debt management, income, Job Hunt

It’s PAYDAY!

Some people get paid monthly, some weekly, some twice a month, and then there’s people like us who get paid every other week.

I find it quite frustrating that my monthly take home is less than the rent that is due. Why is it that our cost of living is so high and our salaries so low? Many people out there will say this about anywhere they live.

Let’s break it down for you a little bit more frustrating for me. In my line of employment, the US Army requires us (defense contractors) to have masters degrees. If I were to do this job with a masters in a civilian position, we’re looking at more than twice our salary for the requirement.

So why don’t I get a job elsewhere? Well, for starters, wherever the “elsewhere” is, it means I likely won’t be assisting soldiers. I never joined the military (and if I tried, I likely wouldn’t have gotten past the physical), so in a way, this is my way to “give back”. I enjoy working on post. Maybe someday I can get a government position, but the job openings here are slim.

In the meantime, payday is quite frustrating. I do my best to pay bills and buy what we need, but it’s all generally ruling my life.

Today I paid half my car payment (I pay half every paycheck) and bought uniform shirts for my son for kindergarten. Why are shirts so expensive? How do low income families afford to buy their children uniforms for school?

We also need to figure out how to place money on his meal card. I will be registering him for the A+ program, which means I can drop him off before school and pick him up afterwards while YMCA staff supervise him. This will incur $150 a month that’s out of my usual bills. It’s throwing me for a loop at the moment.

I’m not sure how all of this will work, but I’m sure everything will come together as it always does.

God will provide, He will guide, and He is victorious.

Author:

Daughter, sister, mother, wife. Most of all, follower of Jesus Christ. Avid reader and amateur book review blogger; WAHM-to-be.

Leave a Reply

