Posted in Black Friday, budget, Debt management, Payday

Happy Thanksgiving 2014

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! On this Thanksgiving, I am very thankful for those deployed and away from their families. A good friend of mine recently returned from Afghanistan and much has happened in her life and family in the last 6 months. Thank you to all who have and are serving in our nation’s military, this includes family members as well!

In addition, I have noticed a ton of advertisements for pre-Black Friday sales. While some began a week ago, there are retailers having sales today and tomorrow. I even saw a local mall that will be open until midnight tomorrow. Thank you to all who work in retail and spend countless hours dealing with the endless shoppers! I pray you will keep your cool and make time to complete your own shopping as well.

Speaking of tomorrow, it is well known as Black Friday, when retailers no longer operate in debt, rather their sales are historically higher than the rest of the year as consumers begin their holiday shopping. Tomorrow is also my payday. Can there be anything worse than payday falling in Black Friday?

Personally, I’m not a big shopper. I like to walk around and pick out items. Sometimes I’ll carry the items around the store only to put it all back because I really don’t need it. Knowing that I’m getting paid on Black Friday encourages me to stay away from shopping because I am afraid my paycheck will get spent before I pay the necessary bills. And I can’t have that happen!

Now, if you’re a Black Friday shopper, please be safe. Be sure to keep your belongings and items you want to buy close to you as there are some who will snatch it out from under you when you’re not looking. And most of all, be mindful of your budget!

Author:

Daughter, sister, mother, wife. Most of all, follower of Jesus Christ. Avid reader and amateur book review blogger; WAHM-to-be.

Leave a Reply

